Using Workspaces

Workspaces are an easy and efficient way to collaborate with a group of users to develop and test APIs. You can either organize your work in personal workspaces or work with others in team workspaces.

In this section, you’ll learn how to work in workspaces.

Adding elements to another workspace

You can add collections or environments from one workspace to another workspace. In the Workspaces dashboard, click the Add to workspace button next to a workspace to which you would like to add a collection or environment.

add to workspaces

In the Add to this workspace page, select the source workspace that contains the collection or environment you want to add to the target workspace.

Under the Collections or Environments tab, select the element(s) you want to add.

select for workspace

Click the Add to this Workspace button. The element(s) will now appear in your list of collections or environments in the target workspace.

Removing elements from a workspace

When you remove an element from a workspace, it is no longer visible in that particular workspace. The element is still available in any other workspace where it has been added.

From the Postman app, you can remove a collection from the sidebar. Click the ellipses (…) next to the collection you would like to remove. Select “Remove from Workspace” and confirm that you would like to remove the collection from the current workspace. The collection will no longer be visible in the workspace.

remove collection from workspace

From the Postman app, you can remove an environment from the Manage Environments modal. Click the ellipses (…) next to the environment you would like to remove. Select “Remove from Workspace” and confirm that you would like to remove the environment from the current workspace. The environment will no longer be visible in the workspace.

remove environment from workspace

Similarly, you can also remove collections and environments from the Workspaces dashboard in the web view.

Deleting a workspace

When you delete a workspace, you erase its existence in Postman. Only the original creator of a workspace or a team admin can delete a workspace.

To delete a workspace, go to the Workspaces dashboard and select a workspace.

Click the ellipses (…) next to the workspace you want to delete and select “Delete”.

delete workspace menu

In “Delete Workspace”, confirm that you wish to delete the workspace. Remember when you delete a workspace, it is gone forever!

delete workspace

Deleting elements in a workspace

To delete an element in a workspace from the Postman app, go to the status bar at the bottom of the screen and make sure you are on the “Browse” mode.

browse mode

Select an element view for either Collections, Environments, Monitors, Mocks, or Integrations.

Click the ellipses (…) next to the workspace element you want to delete and select “Delete”. Confirm that you would like to delete this element, and you will no longer see the element visible within the workspace.

Similarly, you can also delete elements from the Workspaces dashboard in the web view.

Note: Deleting an element is different than removing it. When you delete an element, it is gone forever! When you remove an element, it will continue to exist in other workspaces to which it has already been added.

Joining a workspace

A user can join a workspace to work on collections, environments, monitors, mocks, and integrations. Let’s see how.

In the Postman app, click the workspace in the header bar to open the workspaces menu dropdown.

Under the “Team” tab, select a workspace to join under WORKSPACES YOU CAN JOIN.

join ws menu

Click the orange Join button in the top right.

join two

In the confirmation message, click the Start Building button to complete the process.

join three

Similarly, you can also join a workspace from the Workspaces dashboard by clicking the Join button next to the workspace that you wish to join.

join by dashboard

Sharing a workspace

Postman lets you share your personal workspaces with other users.

In the Postman app, click the workspace in the header bar to open the workspaces menu dropdown. Click the All workspaces link to open the the Workspaces dashboard in your web browser.

From the “All Workspaces” view of the Workspaces dashboard, click the ellipses (…) next to the personal workspace that you wish to share, and select “Share”.

share personal workspace

In “Share a personal workspace”, search for existing team members with whom you want to share the workspace, or select them from the “Members” dropdown menu. If you are an Admin, adding users outside the team will invite them to join the team. Postman Enterprise users can check the box to limit the visibility of this workspace to invited members to make a private workspace.

share personal

Click the Share this workspace button. Your shared workspace will now appear as a team workspaces.

Sharing collections and environments in workspaces

You can share collections, environments, and other Postman elements in workspaces so that your teammates can view or edit them. Sharing an element in a workspace is the same as adding an element to a workspace when you add the element to a team workspace.

If you add an element to a team workspace, the collection will be visible to others on the team. Postman Enterprise users can create private workspaces to limit the visibility of a workspace to only invited team members.

Select this option to add a collection to another workspace. If added to a team workspace, the collection will be visible to others on the team.

Admins can set team default permissions to either view only or edit. They are also able to grant existing team members individual user permissions.

in app collection sharing

Similarly, you can also share elements from the Workspaces dashboard. For example, select a collection and then click the Share button. The collection is visible in your target workspace.

share collections

Viewing details of a workspace

From the Postman app workspace selector, click the ellipses (…) next to the workspace for which you wish to view the details. Select the View Details option.

view details app

Similarly, you can also view the details of your workspace from the Workspaces dashboard.

view details

details team

Renaming a workspace

In the Workspaces dashboard, click the ellipses (…) next to the workspace that you wish to rename. Select “Rename”. Update the name and save your changes.

rename personal

To rename a team workspace, you must have admin privileges to modify team settings.

rename team

Leaving a workspace

To leave a team workspace, click the ellipsis (…) next to the workspace that you wish to leave. Select the “Leave” option. In “Leave Workspace”, confirm that you wish to leave.

Once you leave a workspace, you can no longer collaborate on elements within the workspace, however you can always join the workspace again in the future.

leave workspaces

Editing a description of a workspace

You can edit descriptions for personal and team workspaces.

From the “All Workspaces” view of the Workspaces dashboard, click the ellipses (…) next to the workspace you wish to update, and select “Edit Description”.

edit descr1

In “Edit workspace details”, update the summary and save your changes.

edit descr2

Managing members of a team workspace

For team administrators who want to manage the members of your team workspace, go the Workspaces dashboard and select the Team tab.

edit descr2

Click the ellipses (…) next to the workspace you want to update, and select “Manage Members”.

In “Edit workspace details”, add or remove team members in the “Members” list, and save your changes.

edit descr team