Collaboration

Postman allows all free users to collaborate with their teams through Team Workspaces. Using this feature, you can easily collaborate and share your Collections, Environments, Integrations, History, Mocks, Monitors, and more.

Note: Free Collaboration is available in Postman version 6.2 and above. Please upgrade to version 6.2 or above to use this feature. Postman offers an upper limit on the number of collection requests and history shares. For more information on the usage limit, refer to the section Usage Limit for Free Users. However, note that Postman does not impose any limit on the number of people you can invite.

You can now get started creating team workspaces and inviting users to join your workspace just by sending an invitation through ‘Invite’ button. You would also be able to join workspaces created by other team members for collaboration. This section explains how to collaborate in Postman and derive the many benefits it offers. It explains the following topics:

  • Working with Team Workspaces

  • Usage Limit for Free Users

Working with Team Workspaces

This section explains different ways of creating a team workspace and inviting other team members for collaboration. You can create a team workspace using the following ways:

  • Inviting a team member to a personal workspace

  • Creating a new workspace from the menu

Inviting a Team Member to a Personal Workspace

You can use the invite button displayed prominently adjacent to the Workspace Switcher. The Invite button is shown below:

invite button

Click Invite. The following screen opens:

invite team member

Enter the email id of the person you’d like to invite to your team workspace and click Add. Once the email appears as shown below, click Invite to team button.

add email

The invitee will be part of the team after accepting the invitation.

Note: My Workspace is a special workspace created by default by Postman. This workspace works differently from your personal workspaces as it cannot be shared with anyone. You can only share the personal workspaces that you create by inviting your team members to it. When you invite a member to your personal workspace, note that Postman converts it into a team workspace.

Creating New Workspace from the Menu

You can straightaway create a team workspace using Create New option in the Workspace Switcher.

create new workspace

Click Create New in the above screen. The following screen opens:

create workspace

Specify a name in the Name field. Input any details for Summary and select Team under Type. The Team option appears highlighted in orange color indicating its selection. Note that the Invite members to this workspace option is available only for Team workspaces.

Usage Limit for Free Users

Team workspaces was available only for Postman Pro and Postman Enterprise users until Postman version 6.2. Team workspaces is available for free users as well from Postman version 6.2 onwards. This section explains the following topics:

  • Usage Limit

  • How Archiving Works

  • Recovering Your Archived Collections

Usage Limit

Postman allows you to collaborate with other team members on up to 25 shared requests and an equal number of shared history under the free plan. Once you exceed your limit, Postman archives your collections and shared history requests. However, Postman secures your archived collections and provides access to your data with options of exporting and downloading. Also, note that the usage limit does not apply to sharing environments; it applies only to shared collection requests and history. Only the collections that you share with other teams count towards this limit and you can still continue having unlimited collections for personal use.

You can check the number of requests you shared using some of the features in Postman like usage drop-down and through the Dashboard. The usage drop-down is accessible through the upgrade button on top right corner. It is shown below:

usage drop-down

This section illustrates this procedure. Click the arrow next to upgrade button on top right corner of your Postman main screen. The following screen appears:

usage info

The above screen provides you all the information related to your usage such as shared requests, history, mock usage and so on.

How Archiving Works

Postman archives your collections after you reach your usage limit just to enable you to keep sharing your important collections ensuring your work does not come to a complete standstill. Postman keeps notifying you from time to time as your collections get archived, something like this:

archived message

Let’s say you have four collections HealthCheckAPI, DNS Checker, Link Checker, Lunch Picker, and Github-Support-Issues-Alert with each having a set of requests. When you exceed your limit, Postman first analyzes your collections based on the oldest edited collection and archives the entire collection. Assuming HealthCheckAPI is the oldest edited collection (edited about four days ago) for instance, all requests related to HealthCheckAPI get archived.

If you are still over the limit, Postman then analyzes the next oldest collection and archives Github-Support-Issues-Alert because it is the next oldest (edited about, let’s say, three days ago). In an attempt to allow you to continuously share your work, Postman keeps a tab on the share limit to ensure your work is uninterrupted. Postman indicates the number of your archived collections at the bottom of the sidebar as illustrated in the screen below:

archived message

The above screen displays six archived collections.

Recovering Your Archived Collections

As Postman archives your collections, you might want to recover your collections for your reference and use. To recover your collections, in the Postman main screen, click ARCHIVED COLLECTIONS, as illustrated below:

archived message

You are now redirected to the Postman web dashboard, as illustrated in the following screen:

export data1

This screen lists all your archived collections. Click Download Your Data on top right corner to bring up the following screen:

export data2

Click Request data archive on top right corner. The following screen appears:

request data archive

Once you request, your request will be acknowledged and in due course your request appears under Requested Archives section from where you can click Download button and get your data, as illustrated here:

Download Data

Alternatively, you can also download your archived data directly from the Postman App. To know more about this, refer to Settings section.

To download your archived collections, you must choose the second option Download all data including data in workspaces I have joined. The first option in the above screen downloads only your data in personal workspaces.