History

All requests you send using Postman are stored in the history which you can access using the left sidebar. The history lets you experiment with variations of requests quickly without wasting time building a request from scratch. You can load a previous request by clicking on the request name.

If you create an account and sign in to Postman, your history will be synced with our server, backed up in realtime, and retrievable across your devices. If you sign out of your Postman account, and then log back in, the last 10 requests will remain in your history. Postman Pro users will have access to the last 100 requests.  The same policy holds for collection runs. Remember that you can always save as many requests in collections as you want.

history sidebar

From the History tab within the sidebar:

Click on a request in this tab to load the exact request configuration in the builder. You can use the up and down arrow keys on your keyboard to navigate through the requests. Postman will load the request in a preview state. Pressing Enter will ensure that the request is not replaced by another one.

Find requests

The requests are ordered by time, with the most recent requests displayed at the top. Postman avoids duplicating GET requests with the same URL in the history. If your request history becomes large, filter requests in the sidebar using the search input field. Postman matches the request URL in your history with the search term.

Multi-selecting requests

Hold down the CMD key (or CTRL on Windows), and click on each request that you want to select. You can initiate actions like saving, sharing, documenting, mocking, or monitoring on these requests through actions at the top of the list.

Save requests to a collection

To organize commonly used requests, you can save them from your history to a collection. When a request is selected, or when selecting multiple requests, the Save to collection link will display at the top of the sidebar. Click on Save to collection. Select an existing collection, or create a new collection, to save the requests to a collection.

Delete requests

You can also multi-select and delete requests that you don’t want to see in your history, click the Delete dropdown and select Delete Selected. If you want to get rid of all the requests in the history, select Delete All.